Reviews

We receive many letters from the families we've served, thanking us for our caring ways during their time of loss. Their words warm our hearts, and speak to you of our professionalism, compassion, and the true value of the services we provide.

Through the time of trial and tribulation in my journey ~ after the death of my husband ~ Jeff Jakeway, with the Sytsema Funeral Home Staff alongside, (Kevin, Jeff V., Jan, Kristy, and Keri), provided solace and consolation; their efficiency, patience and tenderness will be a memory held dearly. I have so much appreciation and am humbled by Jeff Jakeway's care and concern in helping me move forward throughout; his gentleness and assurance while accompanying me at the crematorium brought peace to a wounded heart and joy to a spirit, freed. His diligence never faltered, brightening each day we met or spoke via phone. Once again, my extreme gratitude for your perseverance in working with me, Jeff, as well as a job well done.

Judy Gray June 14, 2019

The amazing staff have compassion that comes from the heart, which is very comforting to the family.

Susan Grams May 22, 2019

Sytsema Funeral Home is outstanding! The service they provided for my brother 10 months ago was excellent. They knocked it out of the park with my father two years ago! Working with Todd Sytsema was a great experience.

Anthony Gutierrez May 01, 2019

Our family thought we were treated with compassion, dignity and very professionally. We were very satisfied with the service provided by Sytsema Funeral Home.

Dennis Fodrocy March 06, 2019

I can't say enough about Sytsema Funeral Home- especially Jason! He helped with my mother's concerns and went above and beyond answering her difficult questions. My father's visitation, funeral and burial at Fort Custer will always be remembered.

Deborah Roest August 27, 2018

I would like to say "Thank you" to Dean for making a very difficult time in my life very manageable. His compassion, care and concern for my well-being as well as all the funeral details was absolutely phenomenal!

Carol Bauer July 20, 2018

On behalf of my dad, James H. Lawie, and our entire family, we are so appreciative of all that was done from the pre-arrangement to the transfer, arrangements, service, etc. They went above and beyond.

Joan Hall June 04, 2018

I was treated with respect and more importantly like family. Chris was so attentive to our needs and answered all of our questions through this difficult time. He left no stone unturned. Fantastic!

Jeanne Grelewicz May 15, 2018

Everything was excellent and exceeded my expectations. Please know your kindness and professionalism helped tremendously during a difficult time. Thank you for all you did.

Monique Van Epps May 02, 2018

Amazing Team!

AH February 09, 2018

Words cannot express our gratitude to Sytsema Funeral Services for their expertise, professionalism, support and caring during our darkest hour. Mr. Scott Vanderlaan and all the staff were there to help us through this difficult process. Their genuine caring shined thru every step of the way. For that, we will be forever grateful.

Mark and Peggy Sue Hicks October 20, 2017

I am so happy with Sytsema. My husband's death was not expected; Bob and Sytsema's were so helpful. I would recommend to anyone.

Bobbi Crampton September 07, 2017

Our family was very impressed with the quality of services offered and provided by Sytsema Funeral Home - Lee Chapel.

JM September 07, 2017

We've used Sytsema twice in the last 6 months. They were really kind and made sure everything we wanted/needed was done. Very upsetting times were made easier for us because of them.

CK February 14, 2017

The people we dealt with at Sytsema Lee Chapel were amazing-felt like family- did a wonderful job and made us all feel "taken care of". We are very grateful for their help.

Karen Donovan February 06, 2017

I only have compliments and an abundance of gratitude for how I was treated- Thank you, you were a blessing then, and always.

Susan Harrison-Wolffis February 06, 2017

Everyone connected with my husband's visitation and memorial service went above and beyond to make sure he was remembered with dignity and honor.

JG November 01, 2016

During such an emotional time John and the rest of the staff were so caring- They made sure EVERYTHING was done as to our wishes!!

SK October 07, 2016

Sytsema was perfect in every way and ways I hadn't imagined. Every encounter with every person was meaningful and pleasurable.

LS August 04, 2016

I would highly recommend them to everyone.

RS May 24, 2016

The Walburn Chapel has taken care of my grandparents and parents. Those at Walburn who have taken care of us have always felt more like family than business people.

MC May 10, 2016

Jason, the funeral director working with our family was compassionate and caring in working with us, met our needs and wanted to make sure our questions were answered.

KS November 12, 2015

We had the visitation in our church prior to the service. They had everything (flowers, picture boards) arranged very nice. Our pastor said they were great to work with.

BH November 11, 2015

Very appreciative of Bob letting me know when things needed to be done and the quiet manner he did them in. Office ladies always helpful if I had any questions or paperwork needs.

NW September 09, 2015

I was very impressed with my mom's service. Couldn't have found a better place for my family to have arrangements through Sytsema- Lee Chapel!

JJP August 20, 2015

"Thank you so much for helping us through my fathers passing. We couldn't have done it without you. The graveside service was a complete success."

D.G. July 28, 2015

Our family was very pleased with the help of the staff - supportive and professional.

BK June 24, 2015

They were on top of everything!

Delores Bowne June 18, 2015

Our family cannot begin to thank Cameron for his compassion during the most difficult time of our lives.

Kelly Merz June 11, 2015

Very happy with the way everthing was handled. Kelly handled the pre-arrangements and I was impressed and happy with how she handled all of it. Cameron was excellent.

BW May 06, 2015

Mother would have been very pleased and proud of her family.

JS April 28, 2015

I had to arrange this funeral from Kentucky. Cameron was very helpful. He stayed in touch and provided me information. Very professional.

BA April 27, 2015

Sytsema Funeral Home does the best in this area. They are excellent. Everything was perfect and they always are dressed so neat. I recommend them highly. All the employees are great!

Lottie Stuparits March 23, 2015

Jason was wonderful when my father passed away. He was always available for any questions that we had for him (and we had quite a few.) He treated all of us with the utmost of respect and was very caring and understanding. Jason handled all of the details, and there were so many, with precision and professionalism. The whole staff at Sytsema were wonderful. They made a very difficult time easier. Thank you Sytsemas!!

Kristi Kozal March 09, 2015

The overall experience was great. The service was invaluable.

CS January 29, 2015

It was, in my opinion, first class.

PF January 29, 2015

John and his staff were wonderful. They answered every question we had and treated us with dignity and respect. They knew just what to do to make this sad time easier. You can be very proud of this business and how caring they are.

Charlotte Johnson January 27, 2015

Everything was beautiful! Thank you to everyone!

DB January 08, 2015

Perfect! Enough Said.

PC October 30, 2014

We couldn't have given my wife a better send off. The staff was professional and also super friendly and made the experience better than I ever could have imagined. Thanks!!!

Benjamin Whalen May 28, 2019

Sytsema's care, professionalism, tact, and dignity are second to none. How they took care of my mother, myself and my family at this difficult time was wonderful. They truly are the leader in our town.

Larry Rolison May 20, 2019

I love Sytsema Funeral Home. We have used you guys for years and no matter what happens we will always go back to your place to put any family member to rest. Because I know that you always do the right things when it comes to it.

Loretta Linberry April 26, 2019

I cannot say enough positive comments about Scott and Sytsema's entire staff. They certainly made this very difficult situation easier.

Kirstin DeMaio March 19, 2019

This is my third experience with Bob Vanderlaan assisting me and my family with planning services for our loved ones and, as always, he did not disappoint. Always kind, considerate, helpful and extremely professional.

Beverly Ring August 10, 2018

Jeff Jakeway was a pleasure to work with. He was not only extremely helpful but also sincere, compassionate and kind. Thank you, Jeff, for helping us through this difficult time.

Isabel Evans July 18, 2018

The service we received was top notch. Both my father and mother were taken care of here. They made a very difficult time easier for all of us. Very caring and compassionate personnel. Keep up the good work!

Diane Norbury June 04, 2018

Dan went above and beyond for me. He handled a difficult insurance problem, took the extra time to help us process the paperwork while maintaining a professional and positive attitude! Thanks, Dan.

Jennifer Blessman May 04, 2018

Jeff Jakeway was extremely helpful in securing a burial plot, and with follow-up paperwork such as Social Security and life insurance.

Joyce Ruster February 14, 2018

I don't know how Sytsema's could improve anymore- for staff to services. They did my husband's service 12/9/2017 and was very pleased.

Carolyn Ahrens February 07, 2018

I and my family were so impressed by every aspect of Sytsema's team of wonderful, caring, empathetic, knowledgeable people. They made the three events celebrating my husband's life so meaningful to all who attended. "When it means everything" - They did everything. I'm forever grateful!

JT September 15, 2017

We all appreciated the kind, compassionate care and professional service we received for my dad's visitation and funeral. Thank you.

Virginia S. September 07, 2017

On Friday, our father and friend passed away. There were too many things happening too fast for the 3 days prior to his death that memories often overlook small details. Hospice called Sytsema to remove his body and within an hour or so, two young men arrived. I cannot forget a detail like someone coming to take our father away. I commend these young men for their demeanor, their politeness, their sensitivity and maturity in meeting the needs and concerns of those who were there at the time. These young men instructed us all on what they would be doing and they did it so well that I never saw them leave the premises. Our heartfelt gratitude and praise goes out to everyone at Sytsema for all the compassion and love they have shown us during this time of our loss. Also, thank you for presenting our father at the visitation and funeral with great honor and dignity. You all were wonderful.

KS July 19, 2017

Jeffrey Jakeway was a very big help to me. My husbands death was sudden and Jeffrey took a lot of time with my family and I. Thank you so much to Jeffrey and Sytsema Funeral Home.

Jackie DeGroot February 10, 2017

Sytsema Funeral Home-Lee Chapel did an outstanding service to our family during the loss of my father. The professionalism & compassion from every staff member was greatly appreciated. Scott was (over) personally very attentive to all of our needs. I had a lot of comments on how nice dad looked and how wonderful the service was a wonderful tribute to my dad. Outstanding job. I am very thankful. Well done for Lee Chapel.

Mary Sikkenga February 06, 2017

I want to thank you for the wonderful service that the whole team at Sytsema provided to my family and especially to my mother during this very difficult time. The attention to detail and keeping us all on track and on the same page during the three weeks of planning the Memorial was extremely helpful and appreciated. I know this is your expertise, but wanted to express my sincere appreciation for your kindness and helpfulness throughout the entire process. I feel at peace with the way we were able to honor my father's life and spirit during the Memorial and couldn't have been happier with the setting and presentation. Thank you again for your help in getting us through one of life's most difficult transitions.

Marisa Green February 08, 2017

Sytsema has been so helpful, understanding and supportive...they continue to maintain and offer personal with professional help in a very difficult time.

SW October 28, 2016

There just isn't another funeral home with such compassion and professionalism.

AA August 09, 2016

Our family and extended family felt that the staff and services of Sytsema Funeral Homes was excellent. Everyone made us feel comfortable and relaxed during a very difficult time.

BP June 28, 2016

They are the Best!

WO May 23, 2016

I just want to express our gratitude and relief for all the arrangements and duties performed by Sytsema and Daniel Achterhoff.

BM November 20, 2015

Could not have done a better job.

EE November 11, 2015

Words can never express our thankfulness for the kindness and compassion shown to us during this most difficult time. You went above and beyond to make sure every detail was taken care of, making Denny's funeral service a true celebration of his life. For that, we will be forever grateful.

Sue & Family October 20, 2015

Excellent in every area!

RL August 25, 2015

"Thank you so much for your professional service and lovely facilities. You made celebrating the life of my grandmother a smooth and hassel-free experience. Thank you for your calm guidance, allowing family to be involved in the service, and ensuring that the family was well-informed in what was going on. While funerals are not a happy time- your facilitation and facilities allowed our family to focus on connecting instead of details. Thank you!"

S.A. July 28, 2015

How can I possibly thank you for all of your kindnesses. You were a blessing to me and to my entire family during this difficult time. We could not have gotten through this without you. Years ago, when I had you to our home to prepare for this day, we knew we had made the right choice. Your faith, kindness, and sincerity were so apparent.

S.O. July 24, 2015

Everything was handled extremely well, couldn't have asked for more.

Bruce Anderegg June 19, 2015

Everyone A-1 professionals. Very caring. Excellent run funeral home.

CP June 17, 2015

They did a great job, above and beyond expectations!

VR May 13, 2015

Amazing staff. Great communication and the staff listened and cared that all our wishes were taken care of. This type of care is rarely seen by businesses. They are truly offering a great service! Thank you.

LG May 01, 2015

We could not have any better care anywhere!

GB April 28, 2015

Everything was beautiful, we were all very pleased!

DB March 23, 2015

I have had two (2) loved ones pass away in the last few months. Bob was truly sent by God! He was so caring. He really helped us and the little grandkids get through this.

Mary Jo Langlois March 11, 2015

Pre-planning my mother's funeral with my her was hard, but it was the best gift she could have given to me. The sympathy and support shown to us by all the staff was more than we could have hoped. I would encourage everyone to look into pre-planning arrangements. THANK YOU!

KB February 25, 2015

I was very happy with Sytsemas service and patience at this very difficult time.

JB January 29, 2015

Everything was excellent and great help!

SB January 29, 2015

They did a terrific job. A beautiful funeral and service for my mother.

JS January 22, 2015

They did a great job. They always do.

JH September 27, 2014

Completely Satisfied!!

JD November 30, 2014